One of the best things about living in Denver are the awesome FREE things for families to do. Check out our list of 2020 Free Days throughout the area.

This awesome museum is bursting with activities and hands-on exhibits made just for kids. From energy to water to bubbles and more, there is so much to explore! Don’t miss your chance to play for free on the first Tuesday afternoon of each month.

Free the first Tuesday of every month from 4-8pm

January 7
February 4
March 3
April 7
May 5
June 2
July 7
August 4
September 1
October 6
November 3
December 1

Learn about the life and art of modern master Clyfford Still at this unique museum. Be sure to register for a Family Tour to make the most of your family’s day here. The museum is free to ages 17 and under every day.

Thursday, January 23
Saturday, February 15
Tuesday, March 24
Thursday, April 2 (during DPS spring break)
Sunday, April 26 (Día del Niño)
Wednesday, May 20
Tuesday, June 16
Sunday, July 26
Wednesday, August 12
September TBD (during Doors Open Denver weekend)
Tuesday, October 13
Thursday, November 19
Wednesday, December 9

Visit the Denver Zoo for free on select days. Don’t miss your chance to see animals from all over the world and make some precious memories with your family.

Friday, January 10
Saturday, January 18
Sunday, February 2
Thursday, April 9
Tuesday, October 20
Tuesday, November 10
Saturday, November 14

Explorers big and small will love discovering the secrets of the universe at Denver Museum of Nature and Science. From Prehistoric creatures to the mysteries of space, you’ll love exploring this amazing museum. Don’t miss out on the Discovery Zone, a hands-on kids area just for little ones to touch and explore.

Please note, some dates are free from 5pm-10pm only.

Monday, January 6
Sunday, January 26
Monday, February 10 (Darwin Day)
Sunday, February 23
Sunday, April 26 (Día del Niño)
Sunday, May 31
Wednesday, July 1 (5pm-10pm)
Wednesday, August 12 (5pm-10pm)
Wednesday, September 2 (5pm-10pm)
Monday, September 21
Sunday, October 11
Sunday, December 6

Denver Art Museum offers children’s programming and interactive play areas throughout the museum making it the perfect place to take your little artists. Denver Art Museum is free for kids aged 18 and under every day. Admission is free for everyone on the first Saturday of each month.

January 4
February 1
March 7
April 4
May 2
June 6
July 4
August 1
September 5
October 3
November 7
December 5

Take a journey back in time and see real life dinosaur fossils at Dinosaur Ridge. Enjoy the beautiful scenery and find out more about the prehistoric past of Denver.

Second Saturday of each month, May through October:

May 9
June 13
July 11
August 8
September 12
October 10

Take a journey to the past at Four Mile Historic Park. Families can visit farm animals and learn about Denver’s frontier days at this little slice of Colorado history.

Second Friday of each month

January 10
February 14
March 13
April 10
May 8
June 12
July 10
August 14
September 11
October 9
November 13
December 11

Treat your family to a day at the Longmont Museum. The Museum hosts hands on education programs for all ages, indoor and outdoor concerts and changing exhibits in history, art and science.

Second Saturday of each month

January 11
February 8
March 14
April 11
May 9
June 13
July 11
August 8
September 12
October 10
November 14
December 12

Learn about Latin American art and culture at Museo De Las Americas. Free every day for children 12 and under and free admission for all on the first Friday of each month from 5-9pm.

January 3
February 7
March 6
April 3
May 1
June 5
July 3
August 7
September 4
October 2
November 6
December 4

Explore the history of the Boulder region and see into Boulder’s innovative future at this interactive and engaging museum. Be sure to check out the Children’s Discovery Zone, opening soon! Free the first Sunday of the Month 10am-5pm

January 5
February 2
March 1
April 5
May 3
June 7
July 5
August 2
September 6
October 4
November 1
December 6

Explore the art and culture of our time at The Museum of Contemporary Art Denver. Colorado Residents can enjoy the museum for one penny the first Saturday of Every Month. Children 0-18 are free every day.

January 4
February 1
March 7
April 4
May 2
June 6
July 4
August 1
September 5
October 3
November 7
December 5

Colorado is full of natural beauty and wonder. Enjoy free entry to any of Colorado’s four National Parks – Rocky Mountain National Park, Mesa Verde National Park, Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve and Black Canyon of the Gunnison National Park – on the following days.

January 20
April 18
August 25
September 26
November 11

Your children will love exploring the gardens and greenhouses of Denver Botanic Gardens. The Mordecai Children’s Garden is a wonderland of exploration for little ones of all ages.

Monday, Jan. 20 (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)
Monday, Feb. 17 (President’s Day)
Sunday, March 22 (World Water Day)
Sunday, April 19 (Earth Day)
Tuesday, June 23
Monday, July 13
Tuesday, Aug. 11
Wednesday, Nov. 11 (Veterans Day)

Spend a day in the beauty of Denver Botanic Gardens – Chatfield. From the historic farmstead of Hildebrand Ranch to the lush gardens and fields, you’ll feel love this oasis in south metro Denver. Free the First Tuesday of each month.

Tuesday, Jan. 7
Tuesday, Feb. 4
Tuesday, March 3
Tuesday, April 7
Tuesday, June 2
Tuesday, July 7
Tuesday, Aug. 4
Tuesday, Nov. 3 (Election Day)

A joint effort by the City of Aurora and Denver Botanic Gardens, Plains Conservation Center is a place of learning for adults and students. Discover the cultural history of Colorado and learn about the prairie ecosystem. Admission is free from 10am-2pm on the following dates:

Thursday, January 16
Thursday, February 20
Thursday, March 19
Thursday, June 18
Thursday, July 16
Thursday, August 20
Thursday, November 19
Thursday, December 3